Home » News » You're here

Wings AGM 2010

Posted 30th April 2010

At the Wings Athletics Club Annual General Meeting held on 29th April at the Clubhouse, saw the outgoing President Melvin Tan praising Wings athletes for their recent past excellent performances.

The highlight was at the SEA Games 2009 held last year in Laos where James Wong won the gold medal in the discus and a silver medal in the 4x100m by the four Wings sprinters, Gary Yeo, Elfi Mustapa, Lee Cheng Wei and Jamal Amirudin. Not to forget he also mentioned credible performances by other Wings athletes.

Melvin Tan also mentioned the resounding success of the Wings Cross Country 2009 event, where some 500 participants took part. Adding on, he was disappointed of the club cancellation of their annual Track and Field meet due to the H1N1 virus outbreak, but was however optimistic of the club future. He calls for Wings members to "serve the country through the club".

As Melvin Tan steps down, Eric Wong, who was last year club Vice-President fills in the position as the new head for the decade-old club. Eric has outlined a more progressive structure for the club in his agenda.

That includes making the club a much more efficient one, such as moving towards e-payment for its members, more Wings held running clinics and a revamped of the current membership, promising exciting tie-ups with sponsors and merchants.

These are the new Wings office bearers for 2011-2013.

  • President: Mr Eric Wong
  • 1st Vice-President: Mr Alan Koh
  • 2nd Vice-President: Ms Emily Huang
  • Honorary Secretary: Ms Elaine Lim
  • Asst. Hon Sec: Mr Lim Yao Peng
  • Treasurer: Mr Mark Tan
  • Asst. Treasurer: Mr Jezreel Mok
  • Committee Members: Mr Remy Gan, Mr Joel Chia
  • Team Manager: Mr Melvin Tan

wings athletic club
Copyright ™ visitors since 2000